Hanging Rock — in the rain

GOPR0500.JPG

This weekend’s trip to hanging rock state park did nothing but make me excited to go back.  I’m thankful that we didn’t let the rain and fog stop us, but it made me that much more anxious to see everything in better weather. It was my first time sleeping in a tent in the rain – and man did it pour! It was actually super peaceful though – and now that I know I will be able to stay dry, next time will be a much more enjoyable experience.

tent

It rained the whole week end, but much of the time was just a light mist; which was actually a bit refreshing during the hike. I had no idea what I was getting myself into on this trip – I usually do a lot of researching before I go somewhere. With last week being so busy at work though, I trusted my gut on this one and just made the most of it, planning as we went along. I had no idea that there was SO much to do at this park. TONS of trails leading to amazing overlooks and waterfalls. The trails themselves were pretty interesting, with many different terrains (not pictured), it never got boring.

There are both long and short trails. The one leading to the main “hanging rock” is a bit strenuous, but SOOO worth it! The trails leading to the waterfalls are much shorter. Definitely a good hangout spot in the summer- I can see why this place is so popular. Even on the rainy days of our visit, there were several hikers. Many people even brought their dogs (not a bad idea when you need a little pull). I wanted to sit down several times on the hike, but I’m thankful my boyfriend didn’t let me (I guess).

The closest grocery store to the park is a Food Lion 20 minutes away – so stop on your way in. But like most campgrounds, we were provided with a fire ring and a picnic table. They also sold firewood at the visitation center. We did our normal — veggie burgers cooked over the fire (in the rain this time). And would you believe that I made my boyfriend his FIRST EVER PB&J, at 27 years old?! I can’t imagine what type of childhood that must have been, without peanut butter & jelly?!

Pictured below: my fav waterfall that we saw. Hidden behind this huge rock wall, many people kept walking, not realizing it was back there. What a beauty! It appears much smaller in the photos.

For the record: we even brushed our teeth with a water bottle, true camping style. The bath houses were closed for the winter, but they did have an outhouse with one toilet and the bathrooms by the visitation office were open through the day and very clean. My only complaint about this trip – not getting to set up my hammock. I’ll get over it. What fun is sitting in a hammock in the rain anyways lol.

hi.jpg

Two weekends in a row of complete fog. Looking forward to a change of scenery this coming up weekend at Cape Lookout National Seashore. I haven’t been to the beach in a while (like a month lol). Also, neither of us have ever camped on the beach OR saw a light house before, so I’m pretty excited.

One thought on “Hanging Rock — in the rain

Leave a Reply

